Events & Appearances

For speaking engagements, please contact Ginny Clegg at gclegg@law.stanford.edu.

Upcoming Events

There are no events to display

 

Past Events

KQED Forum with Michael Krasny

Marriage: Denied And Delayed
When: Tue July 19 2011 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Brown Bag with Rick Banks

Prof. Rick Banks, who will be speaking to us about his recent book, Is Marriage For White People? How The African American Marriage Decline Affects Everyone (http://ismarriageforwhitepeople.stanford.edu)
When: Tue July 19 2011 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Where: Room 280A, Stanford Law School, Stanford

Stanford Open Office Hours

When: Wed August 17 2011 12:00 PM - 12:00 PM

KQED Forum with Michael Krasney

When: Wed August 31 2011 11:00 AM - Thu September 1 12:00 PM

WPTF-AM Morning Show

When: Thu September 1 2011 7:30 AM - 7:45 AM

KPCC--Patt Morrison Show

When: Thu September 1 2011 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Lanigan & Malone Morning Show

When: Tue September 6 2011 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

The Jesse Lee Peterson Radio Show

A 50 minute, live interview during their weekly "Manhood Hour". There will also be call-ins from listeners. At 8:05am PST.
When: Wed September 7 2011 8:00 AM - 8:00 AM

NPR's "All Things Considered"

When: Thu September 8 2011 9:00 AM - 9:00 AM

The Michael Eric Dyson Show

When: Fri September 9 2011 9:30 AM - 9:30 AM

Interview on WNYC's "The Takeaway"

When: Mon September 12 2011 5:00 AM - 5:15 AM

Interview on Bev Smith Show (American Urban Radio Network)

When: Mon September 12 2011 5:30 PM - 6:00 PM

KGO "Gil Gross Program"

When: Tue September 13 2011 2:00 PM - Wed September 14 4:00 PM

WDBO-AM w/ Pat Williams

When: Wed September 14 2011 7:30 AM - Thu September 15 8:00 AM

NewsTalk 1010 "The Jim Richards Showgram "

When: Wed September 14 2011 12:00 PM - Thu September 15 12:30 PM

Book Event and Signing at Books Inc in Palo Alto

855 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94301
When: Wed September 14 2011 7:00 PM - Thu September 15 9:00 PM

WGCI-FM "Tony Sculfield and the Morning Riot"

When: Thu September 15 2011 4:00 AM - Fri September 16 4:30 AM

Interview with Black Literature Magazine

When: Thu September 15 2011 12:00 PM - Fri September 16 12:30 PM

Harvard Law School Celebration of Black Alumni

When: Fri September 16 2011 12:00 AM - Sun September 18 12:00 AM

Interview on WHUR-FM "Audrey Chapman Show"

When: Sat September 17 2011 5:00 AM - Sun September 18 6:00 AM

WPR "Conversations with Joy Cardin"

When: Wed September 21 2011 6:00 AM - Tue September 20 7:00 AM

WPB Radio "Women Talk"

When: Thu September 22 2011 4:30 PM - Fri September 23 5:30 PM

Interview on Love Zone Radio Show on Blogtalk Radio

When: Thu September 22 2011 5:30 PM - Fri September 23 6:30 PM

Love Zone Radio Show on Blogtalk Radio

When: Thu September 22 2011 5:30 PM - Fri September 23 7:00 PM

Institute for American Values

When: Mon September 26 2011 12:00 AM - Tue September 27 12:00 AM

Discussion/Book Signing, University of Southern California

When: Wed October 5 2011 12:00 AM - Thu October 6 12:00 AM

Reading/Book Signing, Eso Won Bookstore,

When: Thu October 6 2011 12:00 AM - Fri October 7 12:00 AM
Where: Los Angeles, CA

Classes without Quizzes session, Stanford Reunion Weekend

When: Sat October 22 2011 12:00 AM - Sun October 23 12:00 AM
Where: Stanford, CA

Talk at Black Women Lawyers' Association of Greater Chicago, Inc. and Schiff Ha

When: Fri October 28 2011 5:30 PM - Sat October 29 7:30 PM

WHYY-FM "Radio Times"

When: Tue November 1 2011 7:00 AM - Wed November 2 8:00 AM

Talk at Cardozo law school, NYC

When: Tue November 1 2011 4:00 PM - Wed November 2 8:00 PM

"The Challenges of Creating and Maintaining the Family" Panel at the CAPALF/NE

When: Sat November 5 2011 9:00 AM - Sun November 6 10:45 AM

Discussion/Book Signing, Michelle Clayman Institute for Gender Research

Clayman Fellow Alumnus and the Jackson Eli Reynolds Professor of Law at Stanford, Rick Banks, will give a talk on his new book, "Is Marriage for White People? How the African American Marriage Decline Affects Everyone".
When: Tue November 8 2011 4:15 AM - Wed November 9 5:45 AM
Where: Stanford, CA, 94305

Hue Man Book Signing, NYC

When: Tue November 15 2011 6:00 PM - Wed November 16 8:00 PM

Book Event at Barnes and Noble in Emeryville

When: Sat November 26 2011 3:00 PM - Sun November 27 5:00 PM

Talk at the East Bay JCC, Oakland Branch

5811 Racine St.
Oakland, CA 94609
When: Thu January 12 2012 7:30 PM - Fri January 13 9:30 PM

Book Talk at Santa Clara City Library

2635 Homestead Road, Santa Clara, CA 95051
When: Mon February 6 2012 7:00 PM - 8:15 PM

Webinar with the League of Black Women

Professor Banks will discuss the consequence for African American relationships of the fact that few decades, as black women have moved ahead educationally and economically, black men have fallen behind.
When: Tue February 7 2012 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Wall Street Journal Ideas Market “Is Marriage in Crisis”

Sofitel Hotel, 45 West 44th Street in New York City
When: Tue February 7 2012 6:00 PM - Wed February 8 8:00 PM

Commonwealth Club East Bay Event

When: Wed February 8 2012 6:30 PM - Thu February 9 8:30 PM

Talk with LEGACY Speaker Series, Toronto North York Memorial Community Hall

5110 Yonge St
Toronto, Ontario M2N 7E9

Purchase limited tickets online and/or by calling Robert Small 416 265-6428 (Ajax/Brampton), Vidal Chavannes 416-302-9729 (Whitby) and Benjamin De Graaf 647-438-5395 (Toronto)
When: Fri February 10 2012 6:30 PM - Sat February 11 10:30 PM

Commonwealth Club: Ralph Richard Banks: Marriage in the 21st Century

When: Mon February 13 2012 6:00 PM - Tue February 14 8:00 PM

Talk at UC Berkeley

When: Wed February 15 2012 4:00 PM - Thu February 16 6:00 PM

Taste of Soul Grand Rapids Interview

When: Sun February 19 2012 7:30 PM - Mon February 20 8:30 PM

Talk at Stanford Bookstore

When: Wed February 22 2012 6:00 PM - Thu February 23 8:00 PM

SBAA-DC and NAACP Young Professionals group Talk

When: Fri February 24 2012 4:00 PM - Sat February 25 6:00 PM

Book Event at Busboys and Poets, Washington DC, 14th and V location

When: Sat February 25 2012 5:00 PM - Sun February 26 7:00 PM

Book Talk at University of Washington (Parrington Commons, UW Seattle Campus)

Sponsored by the Department of Sociology and Co-Sponsored by the Department of Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies and the Program on the Comparative History of Ideas

Parrington Commons, UW Seattle Campus
When: Tue March 13 2012 12:00 PM - Wed March 14 1:30 PM

Book Event at the Northwest African American Museum with the Elliott Bay Booksto

When: Tue March 13 2012 7:00 PM - Wed March 14 9:00 PM

Talk with the Harvard Club of Silicon Valley

The Sociology of Marriage: Is Marriage for White People?

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012
6:00 PM - 8:15 PM
Ming's Chinese Cuisine and Bar
1700 Embarcadero Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303
When: Tue April 24 2012 6:00 PM - Wed April 25 8:15 PM